Ilhas cook

ilhas cook

Where is the Cook Islands located?

The Cook Islands ( Cook Islands Māori: Kūki Āirani) is a self-governing island country in the South Pacific Ocean in free association with New Zealand. It comprises 15 islands whose total land area is 240 square kilometres (93 sq mi). The Cook Islands Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) covers 1,960,027 square kilometres (756,771 sq mi) of ocean.

Who is the head of State in the Cook Islands?

The head of state is the Queen of New Zealand, who is represented in the Cook Islands by the Queens Representative. The islands are self-governing in free association with New Zealand.

How did the Cook Islands get their name?

The Hervey Islands later came to be applied to the entire southern group. The name Cook Islands, in honour of Cook, first appeared on a Russian naval chart published by Adam Johann von Krusenstern in the 1820s.

What is the Cook Islands Maori language called?

Dialects of Cook Islands Maori include Penrhyn; Rakahanga-Manihiki; the Ngaputoru dialect of Atiu, Mitiaro, and Mauke; the Aitutaki dialect; and the Mangaian dialect. Cook Islands Maori and its dialectic variants are closely related to both Tahitian and to New Zealand Māori.

How many islands are in the Cook Islands?

There are 15 major islands spread over 2,200,000 km 2 (850,000 sq mi) of ocean, divided into two distinct groups: the Southern Cook Islands and the Northern Cook Islands of coral atolls. The islands were formed by volcanic activity; the northern group is older and consists of six atolls, which are sunken volcanoes topped by coral growth.

What is the Cook IslandsExclusive Economic Zone?

The Cook Islands Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) covers 1,960,027 square kilometres (756,771 sq mi) of ocean. New Zealand is responsible for the Cook Islands defence and foreign affairs, but these responsibilities are exercised in consultation with the Cook Islands.

What is the capital of Cook Islands?

Located on the northern part of Rarotonga Island, in the southern group of Cook Islands is Avarua – the capital and largest city of Cook Islands. It is also the principal administrative and commercial center of the island nation.

Where did the Cook Islands come from?

The Cook Islands were first settled around AD 1000 by Polynesian people who are thought to have migrated from Tahiti, an island 1,154 kilometres (717 mi) to the northeast of the main island of Rarotonga.

Why did the Cook Islands change its name?

In March 2019, it was reported that the Cook Islands had plans to change its name and remove the reference to Captain James Cook in favour of a title that reflects its Polynesian nature. It was later reported in May 2019 that the proposed name change had been poorly received by the Cook Islands diaspora.

When did the Cook Islands become a British territory?

The Cook Islands became aligned to the United Kingdom in 1890, largely because of the fear of British residents that France might occupy the islands as it already had Tahiti. By 1900, the islands were annexed as British territory. In 1901, the islands were included within the boundaries of the Colony of New Zealand .

What was the first European contact with the Cook Islands?

Early European contact. The name Cook Islands was given to the group by the Russians in honor of the great English navigator when it appeared for the first time on a Russian naval chart in the early 1800s. The first official European sighting of Rarotonga was from the Endeavour in September/October 1813.

How did the Hervey Islands get their name?

Originally the islands were named after British Lord Hervey Isles however in 1823 Russians named the islands in honor of Captain Cook. With the arrival of the Christian missionaries, traditional way of life began to blend with the influences of the Christian faith.

Postagens relacionadas: